top of page

Do what your heart desires

Hello my lovely readers! Have you ever had a moment where you were unsure which one of your dreams you should follow? Or maybe your dream is still a bit unclear to you? Because I had a lot of those moments this week. The week started off with a super inspiring lecture by Jaakko Alasaarela, a CEO from ZEF Solutions Oy. He told us right of the bat that you should always write your dreams down and reflect on them from time to time. But more than that, you should write down why is it that you want what you want. What makes your dreams so special to you?

In his speech, he talked about three things that they honor and strive to do at ZEF (which by the way made me kinda want to start working there.)

First was

Love

He made a very interesting statement about love. He said that all of us want to be loved, or feel loved, if we cannot achieve that we want to be respected. Well, if a person doesn't achieve this either they want to feared and hated. I found this very interesting, and noticed that I never really gave much thought to certain human behaviours.

Second he mentioned

Passion

This was related to how things should be done straight away and with your full capacity and how you shouldn't give up on anything. I need to work on this one :D

And last but not least,

Courage

Courage to change the world and reach out for your dreams. He finally just stated that all of us (and all reading this) should convince themselves of one thing: I can do anything.

The inspiring lectures didn't end there for Monday's part. The next lecture was by Camilla Tuominen from Emotion Tracker Oy. Me and my group are also working with her and planning a product launch for her new version of the app Emotion Tracker. I strongly recommed all of you go check it out, it's really cool and I'm positive it can help a lot of people. Here's a link for the website: http://emotiontracker.fi/en/

Her lecture was about understanding emotions and what to do with them.

I must have been so into listening to Camilla talk about emotions, that I forgot to take any notes from the lecture, and I swear I usually do take notes but now they just aren't there! So, for this section, I'm gonna try to go with what I remember :D

She first showed a picture she had drawn herlself ( she is an amazing artist ) that reads all the things that define who she is. I think it would actually be pretty cool to do this of myself someday too!

First Camilla explained how we must keep ourselves in balance with our emotions. I mean of course we can't all the time be on the high of our feelings but we should try keep our emotions 'flowing'. She said she heard a very good speech from Simon Sinek, who I have recently also wrote about in one of my blog posts. Anyway, in the speech he explained how all the stress in our lives, nowaday come in a continuous stream. Just drop, drop, drop.. the stress keeps piling up. I'm sure most of us can relate to the feeling of when everything just gets too much. Camilla mentioned how in the past our initial reaction would be to run away as fast as we can from the thing causing us stress, but that in the modern day, as it comes in these small little continuous drops, we cannot completely run away from it anymore. So we must be in tune with our emotions, and check on them occasionally so that we can find these things causing us stress and in small ways alleviate them. So if we don't fully get rid of them, at least they don't cause us such anxiety anymore. Valuable advice, I think.

Here's a picture of what we can achieve if we can take the information we receive and process it in our own unique way and make something more out of it afterwards. I thought this was brilliant, and I really like the idea of everyone analyzing the things they hear or read in their own way because they can be so different from each other yet neither wrong. This bring variety and interesting opinions to different things.

So after these inspiring lectures, we were left off with a task for analyzing thesis about digitality. We made a video about what we had read, I'll post it here:

On Thursday we first had a lecture by Jabed Kaisar about SEO

He first started off by explaining what SEO is, and apparently there are two types of SEO:

1. On-site SEO

2. Off-site SEO

The Off-site SEO is why it also matters what other people write about your company online :D

He explained the process of SEO, as a web crawler or spider, that goes through first your website and then crawls into the Search Engine Database.

SEO is very important for the visibility of your company online and should always be taken under consideration.

Next lecture was by Bui Duong. He talked about Freshdesk

Freshdesk is a cloud-based support platform that was founded with the mission of enabling companies of all sizes to provide great customer service.

This had a lot of benefits like:

Saves time

Self service

and Subtly selling the products

So guys that's it for this week! That was a long blog post. And oh, something exciting happened. I'm actually involved in translating the Wix.com website into Finnish language! Totally new kind of a venture for me, but I really like it! :D Me and my group (except poor Tanja) are going to take over Stockholm this weekend so my post is a bit early. I wish you all a very happy rest of the weekend!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
bottom of page