top of page

Law studies begin and SLUSH 2015!

Heeey!! Let me tell you guys, Ive had such a busy week. Straight out of moving and now everything just seems to be on the go. This week started of interesting with a lecture by Marjaana Marmo about Law. I find law interesting, but it's just difficult to learn because it's so much memorizing things. Not necessarily my forte, but I will do my best! So we talked about for example, how you make a contract and whose eligible to make a contract. These things might actually come in handy some day, you never know.

Making a binding contract is all about the Who, Why and the When. In Finland anyone over the age of 18 is legally allowed to take part in a binding contract. Those under this age have limited contractual competence. You can get this however also if you've had a criminal past. You have to make a contract in a specific form or it can be announced as null or void. Now let's get to the more interesting part, which is how do you actually draft a contract? Firstly what needs to be made is called an Offer. In the offer you need to specify what is being offered, whom is it offered to and on what condition is the offer being made in. Usually a period of validity is stated, but if not, it's immediately if the offer is made orally or within a reasonable time, if the offer is made in written form.

Of course the offer needs a response, which needs to reach the person making the offer during this time of validity. If all is agreed with you and the other party in the contract then voila! You have yourself a deal. On Tuesday me and my team worked on some of the law related tasks that we were given.

SLUSH 2015

P.S I'm sorry the first half is so wobbly. I really did try.

On wednesday i went to Slush!! I applied some time ago for a student pass for this massive entrepreneurial event in Helsinki and I got the pass! So I'm going to tell you a little bit about my time there.

The even was massive. Over 15 000 people took part in it! On Wednesday I listened to some interesting panels about The Future of Music Business and Augmented and Virtual Reality. Guys, guys. That stuff is AMAZING. I can't believe the things augmented and virtual reality can do! And to think that it's only going to develop further. I really am interested in this gaming/virtual reality creating and I think I'm gonna start learning more about it.

This is a picture of a super interesting panel about Cyber Security. They for example had a lecture from Mikko Hyppönen, CRO of F-Secure, about maintaining security with the coming of Internet Of Things. These basically are all kinds of household gadgets that are connected to Wifi and how they are a huge security risk in the modern day. Hyppönen said something really interesting, which was that apparently before hacks and security attacks had a motive of money, and were relatively expected for what they were because of this, but that now and in the recent past there's been more of a wave of these hacks that seem to have no motive and are weird for their targets and how they were executed. It's extremely important to be careful on the Internet regardless, and to keep your accounts as safe as possible. Because if I learned something at Slush, it was that everything is hackable. And easily so.

I'd also like to congratulate CareMonkey, the winner of Slush 2015 grand prize in the pitching competition! I recommend you all go check their idea out, it sounded amazing. Here's a link to their blog post about Slush:

https://www.caremonkey.com/2015/11/caremonkey-wins-e650000-at-prestigious-startup-conference/


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
bottom of page