top of page

So many dogs & Digipeople Studio Office visit

Good evening for you all :) I had a very exciting week this week. We started off on Monday by two guest lecturers. First one was Sofia Auranen. She gave a very inspiring lecture about how her life turned out after her studies. And she'd travelled all over, and lived in places like Australia and South America! Eventful life, I'll say that much. One thing I really admired about her, is that after her first studies, she told us how she went straight for the managerial positions. This was something I found almost shocking, because for some reason I always imagined that to get to work for those positions you have to have loads of work experience and maybe even previous background at the company. She did first get hired only as a salesperson at a cake cafeteria called Kakku Galleria, but she worked hard and ended up in the managerial position she applied for in the beginning.

She also gave another really good advice I thought, which was to "give responsibility to empoyees. As soon as they feel that they own their task common goals will be achieved." I thought this was a really good piece of advice, as I've always thought as a worked that I rarely got enough responsibility over my tasks to feel like it's actually my job that I'm doing. That doesn't make any sense does it.. It's a bit tricky to explain but I hope you follow :D

Anyway, next guest lecturer was Hanna Sirama, who gave a lot of real life examples about starting a business. She's currently in the process of starting up a business and she gave us a few tasks related to it. I can't unfortunately yet tell what the idea is, but I'm sure soon it will be public :) We constructed a model for potential earning for example, and gave a few ideas my group had about her business.

Me and my group filmed a video with our dogs this week, and I'm so excited to show you the end result:

It was a fun day and I'm sure the dogs enjoyed themselves on their little activity school day. The white fluffy dog in it is actually my sisters dog, not mine but I've also looked after her since she was a looot smaller than that.

On wednesday we went to visit at the DigiPeople Studio Office in Helsinki. Pekka Tuominen, the head of DigiPeople Studio (and our connection to that place) showed us around the studio and took us through places where they film and record voice overs for example. The place is amazing, and looks beautiful.

After this Pekka Tuominens wife told us about her startup business, which I am allowed to tell about. It was called Emotion Tracker. I'll give you a link so you can go check it out if you're so inclined: http://emotiontracker.fi/en/

Anyway, yes, I think the idea is fascinating, and I really understood Camilla when she was explaining about it. I really wanted to study psychology along with business, so I found the idea super interesting. It's basically a way for us to register what we are feeling at the moment, with a simple login and press of a button. You don't even have to write anything further to it, so it's easy and you can do it whenever. Then afterwards you can go back to the emotions you registered (and what they're related to, like e.g work, school, relationship) and conclude whether you should do something about it if it would happen to be negative. My explaining is really not on point today, I hope you guy's are getting something out of this :D And we might get to work with her and this idea! Super happy about this.

On thursday we had a lecture by Arto Kuuluvainen from M3 Research. He specializes in sports brands and business in sports, which was the topic of his lecture that day.

I find this concept really interesting, it's takes a lot of courage to kinda go opposite of the mainstream in this, but I'm sure being an athlete is a really fulfilling career and you really get to do what you love. I do BJJ, and plan to compete in it but I don't think I would have the courage to go pro in it, even if i were much better at it than I actually am :D

Also, wooow... This really is a huge business.

Some of the points in Arto Kuuluvainen's lecture were related to the most important income sources for sport clubs. These were for example:

- NFL's network deals, which lead up to over 5 billion dollars a year

- Sponsorship

- Merchandise

- Ticket Sales

- New sources (e.g NFL & Yahoo partnership and Fantasy Games) - My dad and brother are avid fans of Fantasy Premier League, so this is very familiar to me

Until next week guys! I wish you a very happy and successful week :)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
bottom of page