top of page

Livestreaming lecture and Let's have a peek into other peoples blogs

Hey hey hey all lovely readers. Today's blog has a special task that I'm going to include into the end of this blog post and it has something to do with reading and commenting other peoples blogs. So I can go have a sneak peek into how other people have constructed their digital business course blogs :D I'm excited!

So week started on Monday with two guest lecturers. First one was by Terhi Aho from Tulos. Tulos is a finnish company that deals with for example Search Engine Optimization. I find the topic of it fascinating actually, because it has such a big part of internet searches and the popularity of your website. I got to admit after this lecture I went to check the SEO of my blog, came to the conclusion that it is not rescuable by me and let it be after all. But points for trying, i guess :D Now some things that Ms Aho mentioned in her lecture were for example about Google and how Google sometimes changes the way their SEO works.This is actually a huge deal and can really affect certain companies website success. She talked about Ebay for example, and how their website lost a huuge amount of visitors because of this type of a seo change constructed by Google.

You can see it a bit badly but it says Desktop Global Search Engine Market Share

And I can really see why it's such a huge thing...

Next we had a lecture from Joanna Purosto from MMA, and no not mixed martial arts this time, but Myynnin and Markkinoinnin Ammattilaiset. Translated this means the Pros of Sales and Marketing. She brought out three major topics in her lecture and these were to:

1. Network

This is something people constantly say, but I notice that I still need to improve on. I mean, I go to events and different types of gatherings, but in my typical Finnish nature, I don't really talk to anyone. I have made some really good friends from some of these events that my school has organized, like our Cambridge Venture Camp, but I need to get past my shyness and start talking more.

2. Digitalize

In the true nature of this course, digitalization is a massive thing. And one I thing I have noticed several times, and that for example my parents who are already a bit older aren't quite used to, is that everything is digitalized. And by everything, I mean eeeverything. But I think our generation is already a bit more used to this and is in the habit of doing things online rather than in person. Like shopping, talking, even seeing other people can be done while sitting infront of your laptop.

3. This is only the beginning

This comment really comforts me. I hope I'm not alone on this, but I don't really have a clue where my life is going and what I'm doing with it. I recently had a discussion with one of my mentors in school, who guides us a bit in our professional pathway and future, and I told her this same thing. Although it's also scary, I find the freedom of choise nice too. I can become many things that I might not even still know of. I like to keep my doors open and the one that seems like the best one, I will go for.

Okay next up we have Thursdays lecture that was by one of our main lecturers, Mr Ilkka Kurkela.

I actually couldn't make it to the Thursdays morning lecture because I'm in the process of moving (exciting stuuuff) and Thursday morning was a hassle for me but luckily enough for me (and I seriously thought this is like a sign that I really really ought to listen to the lecture) our teacher had decided to livestream the lecture for the first time ever that day. So what did I do, I quickly downloaded Periscope and started watching the lecture I missed. I love technology. He talked about three main topics in his lecture as well, and these were:

1. People

2. Marketing

3. Integration

A screenshot I took of the lecture

So Mr Kurkela talked for example about the power of social media. I completely agree and can full heartedly admit that Social Media is becoming a huge part of marketing and it's something all companies should consider when planning for their marketing strategies. News on Facebook for example spread like wildfire.

He also mentioned the big moment of truth to a sales person or a company, which is a combination of all the things in your marketing strategy along with brand image and how youre presented. All the factors that influence whether the customer will actually buy your product.

Next up we had a lecture by one of our Digi Coaches Bishnu Rana about Lead Nurturing. Lead nurturing basically is the companys way to communicate with their customers amd build a bond between these two. Usually this happens via email but they can have other channels as well. My email for example is probably 80% of different company advertisements. I took up some interesting quotes from this lecture:

"60% of the sales cycle is over if the customer is not impressed with the brand"

"Nurtured leads make 47% larger purchases than non-nurtured leads"

Okay last but definitely not least! Let's have a look into other people's blogs.

1. Hannah's blog

http://hannking22.wix.com/hannahsdigitalla?fb_ref=Default

I loooove her blog. Like really. She has such a unique tone of voice in her writing, it's really easy to read. And you can see she put's a lot of time and effort into her blogs. Strongly recommend for you guys to check it out.

2. Ada's blog

http://mylifewithdigimonster.blogspot.fi/

Ada writes amazingly, and is brutally honest in her blogposts, but this is something i really really enjoy. She's staying true to herself and that's the most important thing.

3. Kasper's blog

http://madebyk.co.nf/2015/10/04/nordic-business-forum/

Can we just discuss this layout for a while? A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I absolutely love the instagram posts on the side, and the website is so beautifully constructed that I honestly wouldn't probably even notice if he wrote nothing to the side. Which obviously wasn't the case but the text is well written too, and captivating with it's enthusiasm.

4. Katariina's blog

https://laureadigi.wordpress.com/

Again beautiful blog. You can really tell that she's a pro blogger, because her picture quality is amazing and really well layed out. Go check it out!

5. Essi's blog

http://essieoinonen.wix.com/digitall#!Week-8/c1kod/5628b8ff0cf201c73ae3fcf9

I was not blessed with the website planning skills that for example Essi has. Blog is really beautiful and her text is very informative.

Until next week guys!! Happy fall time from me and Ruu! Get ready for Halloween :)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
bottom of page